Horrors That Are Not Discussed

CW:  TW:  Child Molestation/Abuse, Emotional Abuse, Sexual Predation

*

*

*

The first time I was 5. It was in the blur of days following the death of my mother. Some events remain clear as crystal. The adults I knew best were busy. Of course he could help with my bath. There was no safe place for me to avoid him in the days that followed. The basement provided no haven, nor my room, nor my closet. He took it as a game when I hid. When I didn’t want to play his way he’d play some with my toys and turn things around to be about my body again. He played my way, it was only fair I play his. Didn’t I want to be better at it? I couldn’t tell anyone, they wouldn’t understand the game and I would get in trouble for bothering them. I was supposed to trust him. He was family, after all.

#metoo, #whyididntreport

 

Leave a comment